Sovereign-nation lending · Verified against lender disclosures
Tribal lending: lenders, sovereignty & state law
Tribal lenders are companies owned by federally recognized tribes that issue loans under tribal law — largely immune from state rate caps, and contested because of it. We verified 18 major brands (17 currently funding) against their own disclosures in September 2026: ownership, cost, excluded states and the tribal regulator behind each.
| Lender | Product & amounts | Cost (as disclosed) | Skipped states |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spotloan www.spotloan.com ↗ Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians (ND) — brand of Ningo Lending LLC Regulator: Tribe's Lending Commission (Tribal Lending Code Title 43) | Installment loans, marketed as a payday-loan alternative $300–$800 typical; up to $1,500 for preferred (10+ loan) customers Up to ~10 months; biweekly or monthly payments | Maximum 490% APR for new borrowers; rate steps down (330–460%, eventually 99%) with successive on-time payoffs; no origination, rollover or late fees | AR, CT, IL, MD, MN, NY, ND, PA, VT, VA, WV |
| Big Picture Loans www.bigpictureloans.com ↗ Lac Vieux Desert Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians (MI) Regulator: LVD Tribal Financial Services Regulatory Authority (independent tribal regulator with published license and dispute procedure) | Personal installment loans (one open loan at a time) $200–$3,000 (marketing cites up to $5,000) About 12 months in the published example; no early-payoff penalty | APR range 250%–699% for new customers; example: $2,000 loan costs $5,733 total over 26 biweekly payments | Not published as a list — availability changes; verify by phone |
| Bright Lending brightlending.com ↗ Fort Belknap Indian Community (MT) — Aaniiih Nakoda Finance LLC Regulator: Tribe's Tribal Regulatory Authority | Short-term online installment loans; VIP tier for returning customers $300–$1,200 new; up to $3,000 for VIP returning customers Not stated — "rates and terms may vary" | No numeric APR published; "an expensive form of borrowing"; ~25 percentage points off APR for ACH repayment | Minnesota (only state named) |
| MaxLend www.maxlend.com ↗ Mandan, Hidatsa & Arikara Nation — Three Affiliated Tribes (ND); Uetsa Tsakits, Inc. Regulator: Regulated by the Tribe; tribal dispute resolution / individual arbitration | Installment loans, marketed as a payday alternative Up to $2,000 new; up to $3,750 at top rewards tier About 9 months for new customers; longer for rewards members | Fee per $100 borrowed per pay period — up to $29.50 biweekly for new customers; APR disclosed only in the loan agreement | AR, CT, GA, HI, IL, MA, MN, NJ, NY, ND, PA, VT, VA, WA, WV; no active-duty military |
| Plain Green Loans plaingreenloans.com ↗ Chippewa Cree Tribe of the Rocky Boy's Reservation (MT) Regulator: Tribal Consumer Protection Bureau (TCPB) of the Chippewa Cree Tribe | Installment loans with fixed payments $200–$1,000 first loan; up to $4,500 for returning customers Custom schedules; no prepayment penalty | No APR range on the current site — full disclosures in the loan agreement ("an expensive form of credit"); archived schedule showed roughly 159%–374% APR | Not stated — "reside in a state in which Plain Green does business" |
| Mobiloans www.mobiloans.com ↗ Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana — MobiLoans, LLC Regulator: Tunica-Biloxi Lending Regulatory Commission; Tunica-Biloxi Arbitration Code | Line of credit with cash draws Up to $3,000 credit line Revolving billing cycles; minimum payments can stretch to ~14 months | APR 73.89%–413.20% (with $20 instant-funding fee); cash-advance fee plus fixed finance charges per draw; no fees if repaid by the due date | AZ, AR, CO, CT, DC, GA, IL, LA, ME, MD, MA, MN, MT, NH, NJ, NY, NC, PA, SD, VT, VA, WV |
| Makwa Finance makwafinance.com ↗ Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians (WI) — Makwa, LLC Regulator: None named — tribal law and the loan agreement govern; sovereign immunity reserved | Short-term unsecured installment loans Up to $2,000 first-time; up to $2,500 repeat Multiple fixed payments over months; exact length not stated | No APR published — disclosures in the loan agreement; no early-payoff penalty | AR, CT, IL, IN, MA, MD, MN, NM, NY, PA, VA, VT, WI, WV |
| 605 Lending Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe (SD) — FSST Management Services, LLC Regulator: None named — exclusive tribal jurisdiction stated | Short-term unsecured installment loans Up to $1,000 Installments aligned to the borrower’s income dates; length not stated | "Rates are figured on a weekly basis @ 15%" — about 780% APR annualized; no prepayment penalty | AR, AZ, CO, CT, GA, MA, MD, NC, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, DC, WV, UT |
| Northern Star Lending www.northernstarlending.com ↗ Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin Regulator: None named — tribal dispute hotline listed | Online installment loans $200–$1,500 first loan; up to $5,000 returning Fixed payments over a stated span; count not published | APR 630%–780% — one of the few tribal lenders that publishes its range; $25 NSF and $25 late fees | No list; application serves 31 states + DC |
| Golden Valley Lending Not funding new loans Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake (CA) Regulator: None named — borrower submits to tribal jurisdiction | Installment loans (payday-alternative positioning) $300–$1,000 first; up to $1,500 repeat Multiple installments; length not stated | No numeric APR published; disclosures in the loan agreement | Availability via state map; may change without notice |
| Blue Mountain Loans Kashia Band of Pomo Indians of Stewarts Point Rancheria (CA) — brand of Loan Spot Regulator: Kashia Lending Commission | Installment loans $100–$1,200 (first loan cap $1,200) 4–12 months | No numeric APR published; "a very expensive form of borrowing"; disclosures in the loan agreement | AR, CT, MA, MD, NY, IL, PA, VT, VA, DC, WV |
| River Valley Loans Crow Creek Sioux Tribe (SD) — Wahido Lending / Dakota Economic Development Corp. Regulator: Tribe's Financial Services Licensing & Regulatory Commission; disputes to JAMS arbitration | Tribal installment loans $200–$3,000 Typically 10–18 months | APR set by amount and term in the loan agreement; $20 late fee, $30 NSF fee; no prepayment penalty | AR, CT, DC, IL, MN, NY, PA, SD, VT, VA, WV |
| Uprova www.uprova.com ↗ Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake (CA) — Uprova Credit, LLC Regulator: HPUL Tribal Financial Services Regulatory lending code; site terms submit borrowers to the tribe's jurisdiction | Online installment loans with fixed payments $300–$5,000; no separate returning-customer maximum published Sample published terms: 36 months, biweekly payments ($51.58 on $2,500); repay anytime without penalty; Instant Funding "typically within 30 minutes, 24/7/365"; no application fee | The sector outlier — publishes a best-rate tier: 34.5% APR "for highly qualified customers who opt for loans of $500.00 or more" over 36 months; others get "a shorter term loan at a higher APR"; full APR and fees in the loan agreement | Not published as a list — availability changes; verify by phone |
| Lendumo www.lendumo.com ↗ Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians (WI) — Niswi, LLC dba Lendumo Regulator: None named — reserves sovereign immunity; 'abides by federal laws and regulations as incorporated by' the tribe | Short-term installment loans (fixed payments) Up to $2,500; no minimum published Next-business-day funding if approved before 6:00 p.m. CST, with a real-time same/next-day option; no prepayment penalties; one no-fee courtesy extension per loan | No numeric APR published anywhere — "complete disclosure of APR, fees and payment terms are provided within the Loan Agreement"; $30 late (3+ days) and $30 NSF fees; self-described "an expensive form of borrowing" | AR, CT, IL, IN, MA, MD, MN, NM, NY, PA, VA, VT, WI, WV |
| Little Lake Lending www.littlelakelending.com ↗ Big Valley Band of Pomo Indians of the Big Valley Rancheria (CA) — Layma, LLC dba Little Lake Lending Regulator: Tribal Consumer Financial Services Regulatory Ordinance of the Big Valley Band (amended March 2025) | Short-term unsecured installment loans (fixed payments) First-time clients to $2,000; repeat clients to $2,500 Fixed payments over several months; next-business-day funding if approved before 6:00 p.m. CST; cancel until 1:00 p.m. PST the second business day after funding; penalty-free early payoff; one no-fee courtesy extension; active-duty military excluded (MLA) | No numeric APR published — "finance charges and APR will be fully disclosed to you in your loan agreement upon approval"; no prepayment penalty | CT, IL, MN, PA, NY, VA, VT, WV |
| Enable Loans Oglala Sioux Tribe of the Pine Ridge Reservation (SD) — Wakpamni Lake Community Corporation subsidiary Regulator: Wakpamni Lake Community Consumer Complaint Tribal Hotline (1-800-677-3860); Tribal Credit Code available on request | Online installment loans New customers to $700; returning customers to $2,000 (rate table $500–$2,000) Sample schedule: 12 installments over ~3 months ($101.29 per payment on $1,000), weekly/biweekly/monthly options; instant RTP or same-day ACH if approved before 11:30 a.m. CT; no early-payoff fees — a discounted payoff is possible | Publishes a worked example: 897.48% APR over three months on a $1,000 advance — $715.32 finance charge, total of payments $1,215.32; $35 late (7+ days), $30 NSF | AR, DC, GA, IL, MA, MD, MN, NY, PA, PR, SD, VA, VI, WV |
| Post Lake Lending Mole Lake Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (WI) — operating LLC not published Regulator: Tribal Consumer Finance Department — free written dispute process (72-hour acknowledgment); class actions barred | Online installment loans Minimum $200; first-time borrowers to $1,500; returning customers to $5,000 Biweekly schedules (sample: $1,000 loan, $299.51 biweekly); "no origination fee! no prepayment penalty!"; same-day ACH if approved by 2:00 p.m. CST, otherwise next business day | No numeric APR published — finance charge disclosed in dollars and APR in the loan agreement (TILA box before funding); late/NSF fees per agreement | AR, CT, DC, GA, IL, IN, ME, MD, MA, MN, NJ, NY, NC, PA, SC, VT, VA, WV, WI |
| Green Arrow Loans Big Valley Band of Pomo Indians (CA) — Green Arrow Solutions dba Green Arrow Loans Regulator: Tribal Consumer Financial Services Regulatory Ordinance (named in footer/FAQ alongside Dodd-Frank and the MLA) | Short-term installment loans (fixed, scheduled payments) Minimum $200; first-time borrowers capped at $300; other borrowers to $1,500 Biweekly schedules written for the maximum number of payments available; "no extensions, renewals, or rollovers are permitted"; early payoff without penalty; next-business-day funding if approved before 5 p.m. MST | Publishes a worked example: $300 at 825.00% APR — $615.12 finance charge, total of payments $915.12; "specific rates and terms vary based on loan amount and loan duration" | Not published as a list — availability changes; verify by phone |
Verified September 2026 from each lender's own disclosures · Inclusion is not an endorsement or an offer of credit · Several models below are under active litigation — confirm current status with the lender and the CFPB.
What a tribal lender actually is
A tribal lending entity (TLE) is a company chartered under tribal law and owned by a federally recognized tribe — directly or through an economic-development arm. The loan is legally made on tribal land under tribal code, which is why the website of a Wisconsin tribe can serve a borrower in Arizona and apply its own rules. Nearly every major TLE repositioned years ago from two-week payday products to installment loans of $200–$5,000 over months — priced at multiples of state-regulated equivalents.
Sovereign immunity and the state-cap question
Federally recognized tribes are domestic sovereigns, and a genuine tribal enterprise shares that immunity: state regulators generally cannot sue the tribe to enforce state rate caps. That is the business model — and the court fights have drawn its edges:
- Michigan v. Bay Mills Indian Community (2014). The Supreme Court held immunity applies even to off-reservation lending to non-members — states can't simply sue a tribal lender away.
- Williams v. Big Picture Loans (4th Cir. 2019). The arm-of-the-tribe test (creation, control, profits, purpose) decides who counts as the tribe; Big Picture qualified, and the usury claims against it were dismissed.
- Gingras v. Think Finance (2d Cir. 2019). Claims survived against the non-tribal service company behind Plain Green — immunity protects the tribal entity, not every vendor around it.
- CFPB posture. The Bureau asserts jurisdiction over tribal lenders regardless of state-court immunity, and has sued TLE families directly; federal lending laws (TILA, ECOA, collection rules) apply in full.
The practical takeaway for a borrower: a tribal loan is legal to make under the lender's reading of federal law, but it does not carry your state's consumer protections — no state rate cap, no state database, and disputes go to tribal forums or arbitration, not your local court.
Tribal loans in your state
Availability is not uniform: each brand publishes its own excluded-state list, and we computed every state's serving set from those disclosures. See who serves you on the tribal loans by state page — with per-city cost context for the largest metros — and each brand's card on the tribal lenders list.
How to verify a tribal lender before you borrow
- Named tribe. The site should name the owning tribe and its federal recognition — a few brands still don't, and that's a red flag.
- Tribal regulator. A real TLE names its regulator (a tribal lending commission or consumer-protection bureau) — check that complaints have somewhere to go.
- Published cost. Compare the APR range or per-period fee before applying; per-pay-period fees of $15–$30 per $100 annualize to triple digits.
- Your state. Many lenders publish excluded-state lists — 22 jurisdictions in Mobiloans' case — and several skip states with active AG enforcement.
- Trade membership. NAFSA or OLA membership signals a code of conduct, though it substitutes for nothing else on this list.
Tribal loans with no Teletrack check
Teletrack is a subprime credit bureau that tracks short-term loan history, and many borrowers with past payday defaults specifically look for tribal loans promoted as "no Teletrack." The honest version: most tribal lenders underwrite from income and banking data rather than a Teletrack pull, so a past short-term-loan default is usually not an automatic decline — but a handful do check Teletrack or comparable bureaus, and none promises approval in advance. Skip any brand that sells you "guaranteed approval, no check ever"; that phrasing marks lead sellers, not lenders. What actually happens to your application is on each brand's card in our verified tribal lenders list. For the state-licensed side of the same question, see what "no Teletrack" hides on payday loans.
Tribal loans online: how the process actually works
Every tribal lender operates online — there is no storefront version of this market. The flow at the direct lenders we track is consistent: an application with ID, income and bank details (10–15 minutes), an automated decision that often arrives in minutes, an e-signed loan agreement, and funding by next business day over ACH — some brands offer same-day rails for a fee. Three things are worth knowing before you start an online application. First, “online” does not mean unscreened: income and banking verification is universal, and the lenders that publish pricing (Northern Star, Uprova, Spotloan) run the most systematic screens. Second, the agreement is the product — read the total of payments and the dispute forum before signing, because the loan sits outside your state’s courts. And third, verify the entity first: a two-minute check against our verified lenders list — named tribe, named regulator, published exclusions — filters out the lead-sellers wearing tribal branding.
Tribal loans vs state-regulated payday loans
A state-licensed payday or installment loan caps at that state's statutory ceiling and backs you with the state regulator; a tribal installment loan follows tribal and federal law only, at costs that commonly run from about 100% to well over 700% APR. The lawful middle path in most states is a federal credit-union PAL (28% APR ceiling) or a state-licensed installment product — see our state-by-state payday loan laws for the ceiling where you live.
Questions about tribal lending
What is a tribal loan?
A loan made by a lending entity owned by a federally recognized Native American tribe and issued under tribal law from tribal land. In practice almost all are unsecured installment loans of a few hundred to a few thousand dollars repaid over months — the sector repositioned from two-week payday products years ago. Costs are high: published APR ceilings among the lenders we track run from 99% to 780%.
Are tribal loans legal in my state?
This is the contested question. A genuine tribal lender argues that sovereign immunity puts it outside state licensing and rate caps — and courts have agreed when the lender is a true arm of the tribe (Michigan v. Bay Mills, 2014). Several state regulators disagree and have pursued enforcement; some lenders still exclude dispute-prone states from day one. The practical answer: check the lender’s own excluded-state list, and treat the loan as outside your state’s consumer protections either way.
Do tribal loans have to follow state rate caps?
State caps are generally not enforceable against a genuine tribal lending arm in state court — that is the effect of sovereign immunity. But the protection is not absolute: courts apply an arm-of-the-tribe test (who created, controls and profits from the entity), claims can proceed against non-tribal service companies (Gingras v. Think Finance), the CFPB asserts jurisdiction over tribal lenders, and federal lending laws still apply.
How much do tribal installment loans actually cost?
Examples from the lenders’ own disclosures: Northern Star publishes 630%–780% APR; Big Picture Loans 250%–699% for new customers; Spotloan caps at 490% APR; Mobiloans 73.89%–413.20% on its credit line. On a $500 loan at 490% APR over five months you would repay well over $1,000 — always read the total of payments, not the per-pay-period fee.
What is NAFSA and does membership matter?
NAFSA (Native American Financial Services Association) is the tribal-lending trade group; its best-practices code requires members to follow federal lending laws and tribal regulatory codes. Membership is a positive signal, not a guarantee — several large lenders we track are OLA members instead or state no affiliation, and tribal ownership verification matters more than any seal.
Is Spotloan a tribal lender?
Yes — Spotloan is a brand of Ningo Lending LLC, owned by the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians (North Dakota), and its loans are issued under the tribe’s lending code. It was one of the first mainstream tribal installment brands, discloses its APR ceiling (up to 490% for new borrowers), and its rate steps down with successive on-time payoffs.
Is Uprova a tribal lender?
Yes — Uprova Credit, LLC is owned by the Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake (California), the same tribe behind Golden Valley Lending and several lending brands the CFPB sued in 2017 (that case was dismissed in January 2018). Uprova is the outlier on transparency in this market: it publishes a best-rate tier of 34.5% APR for highly qualified borrowers on loans of $500 or more.
How do I file a complaint against a tribal lender?
Start with the tribal regulator named on the lender’s site (for example the Chippewa Cree Tribal Consumer Protection Bureau or the Lac Vieux Desert Tribal Financial Services Regulatory Authority). File in parallel with the CFPB, which asserts jurisdiction over tribal lenders, and notify your state attorney general — several state AGs actively track this market even where enforcement against the tribe itself is contested.